Skip to content

Regions, provinces and municipalities, v1:2007-




With the Danish Structural Reform, which came into force on 1 January 2007, The counties were abolished and replaced by 5 new regions. In addition, 98 municipalities were formed, which replaced the previous 271. For statistical purposes, the 5 regions are further divided into 11 provinces.

The reform resulted by law in a new local and regional structure of the whole country with two administrative levels - regions and municipalities - and thereby a change of administrative units. Of the 98 municipalities, 32 municipalities retained the same municipal code and title before and after the reform.

This classification includes Christiansø (code 411). Christiansø does not belong to a municipality, but is managed directly by the state via the Ministry of Defense.

The geographical breakdown of regions, provinces and municipalities is consistent with the Nomenclature of territorial units for statistics (NUTS).

Valid from:

January 1, 2007


Methodology and Analysis


Søren Kristensen,, ph. +45 39 17 33 37
Codes and categories
All versions
Name Valid from Valid to
Regions, provinces and municipalities, v1:2007- January 1, 2007 Still valid