Skip to content

Classification by sector in the European system of accounts (ESA2010), v1:2014




ESA2010 sectors is a statistical classification. The sector code is used to group institutional units with the same primary activity and function. E.g. the primary activity and function describe if a unit produces market or non-market services. An institutional unit is characterized by decision-making autonomy in the exercise of its principal function. Institutional units are also called economical entities.

The sector code divides the economy into six overall sectors:

  • The non-financial corporations sector
  • The financial corporations sector
  • General government
  • Household sector
  • Non-profit institutions serving households
  • Rest of the world

The sector division is based on the European sector classification, which is defined in the manual European System of Accounts (ESA 2010). This classification is consistent with the international sector classification defined in the System of National Accounts 2008 (SNA 2008). See also ESR sectors, which is Statistics Denmark’s own classification in the statistical business register.

Valid from:

September 1, 2014


Government Finances


Helene Gjermansen,, ph. +45 39 17 34 65
Codes and categories
All versions
Name Valid from Valid to
Classification by sector in the European system of accounts (ESA2010), v1:2014 September 1, 2014 Still valid