Skip to content

Privacy and Cookie Policy

We use cookies to improve the user experience. By continuing on this page, you accept our use of cookies.


Please read our Privacy and Cookie Policy here to find out more.

Municipality Groups v1:2018-


Municipality Groups v1:2018-


Based on accessibility to jobs and the number of inhabitants in the largest city in the municipality, Denmark's municipalities are grouped into five groups:

  1. Capital Municipalities
  2. Metropolitan Municipalities
  3. Provincial Municipalities
  4. Commuter Municipalities
  5. Rural Municipalities

The grouping can be used to analyze geographical differences in Denmark.


Methodology and Analysis


Anne Kaag Andersen,, ph. +45 39 17 32 27
All versions
Name Valid from Valid to
Municipality Groups v1:2018- Still valid